Queens Park dates back to 1866, when Maryborough’s first mayor Henry Palmer, requested that his residents have free use of land near the Maryborough wharves for recreation or public gardens.
There are several unique items of historical and cultural significance. Unveiled in 1922, the Cenotaph is regarded as one of the most outstanding memorials in regional Australia. Together with the Memorial Gates, it was designed by local architect, P. O.E. Hawkes. The gates were manufactured in Maryborough by the Croydon Foundry Co. The cannons link back to the Queensland Navy and to a time when Australia feared an attack by Russia. They were presented to the city as a gift from the Royal Australian Navy and installed in 1914.
The ornate band rotunda was imported from Scotland and erected in 1889 in memory of former mayor, Andrew Melville. It originally included the fairy fountain as a centrepiece. The magnificent Banyan Fig specimen (Ficus Benghalensus) was planted in 1900 and is one of the largest in Australia. The Crows Ash (Flindersia Australis) is the oldest tree in the park and was growing before European settlement of the area in 1847.
A new attraction has been added in recent times, the Gallipoli to Armistice Trail, which traces the journey of the ANZACs through the Great War. It has already received accolades as being part of one of the best regional trails in the country. Reaching a height of 8m, the Gallipoli section is designed to represent the landscape around Anzac Cove. The memorial starts near the statue of Duncan Chapman, which was unveiled in 2015 to portray the Maryborough man who was the first allied soldier to step ashore at Gallipoli on April 25, 1915.
Images courtesy Judy Sumner